Normally, I wouldn’t use this blog as a place to post something of a political bent but then I thought Why not?  Librarians have been politically active forever.  Not that I’m a Michael Moore fan or anything, but didn’t he once say “[Librarians] are subversive. You think they’re just sitting there at the desk, all quiet and everything. They’re like plotting the revolution, man.”  So that’s what I’m doing.  I’m helping to plot the revolution.

I am demanding that news outlets, pundits and other talking heads start treating Michelle Obama with the same respect with which they treat other political spouses.  Not more, not less, just the same.  What has me ticked off?  Fox News* referring to Michelle Obama as “Obama’s Baby Mama.”  This is disrespectful to her on so many levels:  wife, mother, African American, professional, presidential candidate’s wife, etc. 

First of all, the term “baby mama” is a derogatory term used to describe a woman who has children fathered by a man who is not her husband, boyfriend or current source of encouragement/support.  All of these things are the antithesis of what Mrs. Obama is to Mr. Obama.  Note, that I called them Mrs. and Mr.  It is because they are a married couple who has dedicated themselves to each other and the raising of their two beautiful daughters. 

Secondly, few marriages can withstand the scrutiny to which the Obama marriage has been subjected, especially not the Clinton partnership.  Even at their darkest times, Bill Clinton was never referred to as Hillary Clinton’s “baby daddy.”  And we know what a drama filled marriage they’ve had. 

Last, I’m not the only one calling for better treatment of Michelle Obama, so are Jack and Jill Politics, Michelle Obama Watch, and NiaOnline.  Not that she needs us to defend her, as a woman – especially a black woman – she has been defending herself all of her life, but I’m sure it helps her to know that she has people supporting her (and not in a wanna be ghetto fashion either, but don’t get me started on that).  

 

*In the interest of disclosure, I was a Fox News fan.  I enjoyed the interaction between the anchors but I think this has crossed the line.  This was neither funny nor contributory to the dialogue surrounding Barak Obama and his qualifications for the White House.  Therefore, I am officially turning off Fox News.