I wouldn’t say that I’ve always wanted to be a librarian.  Really, are there people who grow up thinking When I grow up I want to be a librarian?  I sort of fell into this career.  I wanted to be a writer, then -for one split moment- I thought I’d like to be a spy.  I had just heard about Mata Hari and seen Casablanca.  I thought I’d look good in a trench, carrying a gun in my garter belt, a fedora pulled down sexily over one eye.   Ok, I also grew up in the decade when “Where in the World is Carmen San Diego?” was a cutting edge game (we also had “Pong”, “Pac Man”, and “Donkey Kong”).  But I digress. 

My husband and I were both in the Army and we had 4 children and were pregnant with baby number 5.  The Army thought Tony would be of better service in Saudi, we thought he’d do better to stay home with me and help raise our growing brood.  We opted to get out of the military.  We moved to beautiful Northeast PA and he got a job at Proctor & Gamble and my “job” became raising our children. 

My husband also realized that in order for us to make it one of us had to get a college degree.  As the primary breadwinner, he could not afford to take the time off so I became the college student.  It was hard going back to school, 6 months pregnant with a gaggle of kids waiting for me at home.  But we did it and we survived.

I ended up getting a Graduate Assistantship at the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Memorial Library, cataloging the papers of former Congressman Joseph McDade.   I enjoyed working at the library and was given increased responsibility (from being a GA to an Archivist’s Assistant to a Reference Librarian).  I decided that I liked my job so much that I decided to delay pursuing a Ph.D. in history to get my MLIS.