On Thursday, 17 April, I was officially installed as a member of the Dallas Rotary. The members are a lively crew who offer plenty of laughs with their community service. Prior to joining the Dallas Rotary, I wasn’t even aware that women were allowed membership (apparently this changed in the 1970s).

The first big community service project I will be involved with is the First Responders’ Dinner. This dinner is to recognize outstanding first responders in the Back Mountain area. This is, I believe, a small way to say thank you and we appreciate all that you sacrifice to protect our lives, our homes and our community.

Anyway, I’m honored to say that I am a member of such a distinguished group of people and I look forward to working with them to make the Back Mountain community a better place to live and work.