Last summer, I went on a tour of my husband’s company. In the different offices, I noticed there was tape on the desks, floors, walls, etc. The tape was in the shape of different objects: stapler, ream of paper, trash can, hammer, etc. I laughed at his co-workers and their anal retentiveness and he, noting the absurdity of the tape, told me that it’s to show the employees that everything has a place. If the the spot is empty that means the object is gone. Duh!

Skip ahead several months to my new job…

I’ve spent the past few days trying to improve the finding aids in our catalog for our archival material only to find out that you can only put so much information into the field. Yes, I should have known this but I didn’t. I’m so frustrated. I’m not sure how I’m going to resolve the finding aid issue but I absolutely HATE not being able to type a subject into the catalog and find what I’m looking for. Nothing is more frustrating that having someone ask me for something and having to search through several boxes before I locate the material. Or, worse yet, finding out the material is not where it’s supposed to be.

So I’m stuck wondering, do I create a finding aid and link it to the catalog or do I have the university invest in tape?