I just became hip to this project in the last two or three days and I’ve been meaning to sign on since I found out, but life kept interferring with my life.  Now I have some time so I’m playing catch up.

This challenge appealed to me for many reasons.  Chief among them, my desire to become more active in my profession (librarianship by way of the archives).  I don’t think blogging is relegated to the sitting in the basement, creepy activity that it once was.  I think blogging has become a legitimate way of developing one’s self professionally, personally and creatively, especially since blogging has become more mainstream. 

So here I go…

Day 1 Do a Commenting Self-Audit

1.  Answer the following questions:

  • How often do you comment on other blogs during a typical week?

I don’t comment very often, although I do read a lot.  I try to reserve my comments for things I feel would be contributory in nature (although I have been known to toss out a couple of very sincere congratulations when the situation warrants).  I tend to think people will be bothered by having to go through the whole approval process just to read “I agree.”

  • Do you track your blog comments?  How?  What do you do with your tracking?

No I don’t track my comments.  But it may be wise to do so especially if the comments that are already there have the potential to start an interesting discussion.  It also may be a way of educating myself to opinions that may be different from my own or similar (therefore, supporting my reasoning and we all like to have more reasons to support our beliefs).

  • Do you tend to comment at the same blogs or do you try to comment on at least one new blog per week?

I’m not really sure.  I read a variety of blogs, but I don’t know whether I comment at one more than at others.  I’d have to say in the last month or so I’ve only commented at one blog and that was because I felt somewhat strongly about the topic.

2.  Now review Gina Trapani’s Guide to Blog Comments and ask yourself how well you’re doing in each of the different areas.  Are there any specific areas where you think you need to do some work?  What do you want to do to address these issues?

Oh, I like the idea of comparing blog commenting to walking into someone’s living room and joining in on a conversation.  People in the blogosphere tend to believe that anonymity gives them the right to behave (“say” whatever they want with little to no repercussions.

I try, when I do comment, to add to the conversation.  But I’m also not afraid to admit when I know little about the topic and ask a question.  Sometimes, I wonder if questioning in the comments section is the best method of information seeking, but I’ve found that it opens the discussion up for more input/interpretation rather than just relying on the blogger to answer. 

As far as anonymity goes, although I do use Curious Child (I love Prince) as my psuedonym, anyone with a bit of skill can find out my real name.  However, when I comment I do “own” my comments.  If I say it and it causes problems, I want the opportunity to defend my comment or, at least, explain it and I would hope that others would feel the same way.