Day 9:  Should We Be Commenting on Blogs?

 Hmmm, to comment or not to comment, that is the question.  After reading this treatise on blog commenting, I think the points for not allowing comments on blogs is valid, but I enjoy reading the comments of others.  I want to know what other people are thinking and feeling about what I have to say and I want to engage in a dialogue with people no matter what the format. 

There are times when I have something to say about what someone has written, but it doesn’t necessarily warrant an entire blog posting nor does it fit into the parameters of my blog topic.  To say that someone can only engage in dialogue through pingbacks or trackbacks is, well, narcissistic.  The fact that people want to take the time to comment on a person’s blog should be regarded as an honor and not an intrusion. 

Maybe I’m thinking about this the wrong way and commenting on someone’s blog is tantamount to opening their diary and making notes in the margins.  What do you think?  Is blog commenting an invasion of privacy or the beginnings of a dialogue?