Dani UnpluggedThis weekend I had the chance to remember what it was like before I had 24 hour access to everything and I have to say, it was brutal.  Ok, brutal may be a little harsh, but it’s pretty darn close.  My ISP and I have been going back and forth over my internet connection because they can’t seem to understand that I have had the same account for 13 years and I want to keep said account along with all of the email that have accumulated in that account.  For the past 4 days, I’ve been passed from Technical Support to Customer Service more often than an offering plate at church.  And, really, what it boils down to is the inability of two offices that ostensibly work for the same company to know what the other is doing. 

In the meantime, without intenet access I’ve felt so disconnected from everything: my friends, my family, the world.  Yes, I know I could have picked up the phone or, heaven forbid, written a letter, but I like the instantaneous satisfaction that comes from social networking.  But it has also made me more aware of all that I take for granted. 

That’s why it is important that we as librarians and others who are interested in creating and maintaining an informed society take every opportunity to encourage our government to increase access to information for everyone.  Today is Virtual Library Legislative Day, so, please, plan to take action.