Day 17:  Five in Five

Hmmm, this is challenging, make 5 comments in 5 minutes and make them all thoughtful.  Let’s see what I can come up with, although I know this is going to take more than 5 minutes.  Now I wish I had waited to open Bloglines so I could see what fresh and exciting posts are available.  Note I’m procrastinating…

Ok, so I cheated a bit on this one but I posted an easy empathy comment for Mindy because she’s a mom and I totally love reading her blogs.  Sometimes I need a break from Library Land and the Archives and Mindy does it for me.

And as I stated before, it will take longer than 5 minutes.  I am now at 20 minutes because I have to find and read…back to the task at hand.

I also commented on Meredith’s post concerning how much sharing is too much sharing.  I find Meredith’s posting to be thought-provoking and insightful.  Although I don’t always agree, I like that she challenges my perceptions of how I think things should be.  Besides, I have to give her props for introducing me to social networking in the first place.

I started to comment on this posting, but I ended up just writing a full on post.  I was annoyed by this on so many different levels: mother, instructor, wife, African American, etc.  I am not advocating abandoning your sons (or daughters, for that matter) once they enter a place of higher learning but I am saying that parents cannot hold their children’s hands forever.  At some point, you have to let go and let them face the consequences of their actions.  If they don’t study, they fail.  As a reference librarian, I received too many calls from mothers asking me to pull books for their sons so they could help them work on a paper.  My response was always “No, but if your son comes into the library, I will be more than happy to show him how to conduct research and locate materials for his paper.”  Teach a man to fish…

Ok, I think I’m going to move on.  But this has been fun.