Day 23:  What Makes a Great Comment?

I am working under the supposition that people blog in order to exchange ideas and to foster a community of shared learning.  Therefore, I’m going to say that a great comment is a comment that is thought-provoking and makes the blogger question his or her own original thesis.  I’m not saying that the comment changes the blogger’s mind but it raises questions for the blogger to consider–it offers a different point of view.  I’ve read blogs where I have totally agreed with the bloggers premise and then read a comment and thought, hmmm.  If commenters simply agree (don’t get me wrong, that’s a good thing too) then there is no learning, no sharing of ideas and no real growth and development.  So a great comment is one that encourages readers to think beyond themselves and see things in a new light.