You have to love Michelle! This month she’s back with Web 2.0 Wednesday after guiding all of her readers through the 31 Day Comment Challenge. I am so looking forward to participating in this challenge because I’ve found that I have sort of petered out when it comes to web 2.0 applications. I want to move beyond basic social networking and learn something that can be applicable to my job as a librarian and as a history instructor.

I decided to record a screencast of why I use Twitter. I downloaded screencasting software from Jing and it took it from there. First of all, I had to figure out how to use Jing. Did I mention that I’m not very tech savvy? Good thing I have no fear of the unknown (thank you to my drill sergeant from my former life as a soldier in the US Army).

Ok, so signing up for Jing didn’t work out. Not sure why, but it kept telling me that I’m not connected to the internet. I am connected. Moving on…

Well, I ended up recording a short video of myself on my computer and posting it to YouTube. Both of which are new to me. So I had fun playing around with my camera and trying to find the proper lighting (side note, I found out my house is REALLY dark). And now I have a YouTube account to boot.

Thirty minutes later…

Ummm, how long is it supposed to take for a video to load?