Today began a little manic and it’s just continuing to be so.  It’s all of my own creation, so I have no one to blame but myself.  A couple of days ago, I had to drive my husband to the airport and he had to be there by 5 AM so I set the alarm clock for 4 AM.  For some reason, I never reset the alarm clock, so I’ve been getting up at 4 AM all week.  Yes, I know.  You would think I would have fixed it by now but…

  • 4 AM – The alarm goes off.  I slam my hand on the alarm clock to shut if off and go back to sleep.
  • 6:30 AM – Wake up totally frantic, thinking I’m going to be late for work.  Then I remember today is Wednesay and I go in at 9 instead of 8 because I have to stay until 4 tonight.  Grab the remote, flip on the tv and see if the world has survived another night.  It has.
  • 7:30 AM – Check the dog to see if he’ll go outside.  Our dog is moody and will not go outside unless he’s ready.  I know he’s only 12 lbs, but it’s easier to let him think he’s in control.
  • 7:45 AM – Take a shower and get dressed.
  • 8:30 AM – The dog wants to go outside now.
  • 8:45 AM – Leave for work.  Good thing I live about 3 minutes from the job because…
  • 9 AM – Arrive at my office, fumble through tote bag full of librarianish stuff and purse full of diva-ish stuff and realize I do not have the keys to my office.  That is the peril of switching bags (purses for all you non-fashionistas) on a daily basis.  You’re liable to leave the keys anywhere.
  • 9:30 AM – Return to the library with keys.  Turn on computer, start to check email and realize I have 2 minutes to get to the reference desk.
  • 10 AM – At the reference desk, I go over the assignment from last night’s history class.  During last night’s class, I gave a bit of bibliograpic instruction and found out that one of our databases wasn’t working as it should have.  I think it was user error, but I want to verify.  I post the assignments for next week and begin checking email.  I then log into Bloglines to see what’s new in libraryland.  A lot of interesting stuff that I’ll comment on later.
  • 11:15 AM – I’m asked to be on the search committee for the Systems Librarian position that has opened up.  I’m pretty excited.  This will be my first search committee as a staff member.  I feel all official and everything.
  • 11:30 AM – It’s back up to the archives to start processing material.  I think today I will work on scanning pictures to add to the Back Mountain Historical Association’s database.  I haven’t done that in a while.
  • Noon – Start scanning pictures.  I wish that I could get permission to set up a Flickr account for the archives.  We have so many really cool pictures that I’m sure people would enjoy seeing.  Instead the pictures are sitting in drawers or in photo albums and scrapbooks.
  • 1 PM – Time for lunch.  A McDonald’s ceasar salad and sweet tea. 
  • 2 PM – Start scanning pictures again.  Check on my peeps at Twitter, FriendFeed and Facebook to see what they’re all up to.
  • 2:41 PM – While I’m waiting for scanner, I go into my folder and update my monthly activities report.  I’m not sure if other staff members keep activity reports or not, but I’ve learned that it’s best to keep a record of your activities.  If for no other reason than when you go to renegotiate your contract (or look for another job) you have a record of the things you’ve done.
  • 3:36 PM – Getting ready to go to the Reference Desk.
  • 4:15 PM – A patron calls and wants to know how to access an article in a newspaper from 2006.  I can’t access right away through our database, so I offer to call the patron back as soon as I’ve located the article.  A few minutes later, I have it.  Just as I’m calling the patron back, he calls me on the other line.  He located the article using Google, I located the article using Newspaper Source.
  • 5:25 PM – I was supposed to get off at 5 but my replacement didn’t arrive until 5:25.  So I gather my bags and head back upstairs to the archives to lock up for the weekend.  I don’t have to come back until Saturday morning.

So that’s my day.  Long and interesting.  Sometimes, it’s hard switching hats from reference librarian to archivist.  Because of the scheduling, by the time I get involved in a project at the reference desk, it’s time for me to go back to the archives or vice versa.  On the other hand, I like that I’m not stuck doing one job day in and day out.  I like variety.