So today began like any other day, with me slamming my hand on the alarm clock while praying today would be the day that a giant black hole would come and suck me up so I could stay in my warm cozy bed.  Alas, it didn’t happen that way…

I arrived at work at 8:05 this morning.  I was five minutes late because I absolutely had to have coffee this morning.  Which is still sitting on my desk because it was so bitter that I couldn’t swallow it.  I know I could have walked down the hall and grabbed some sugar but that’s besides the point.  I’m not sure why I’m in a cranky mood, but I am.

Anyway, I make my way upstairs to the archives and unload my bags.  Before I became an “official” librarian I used to wonder why they carried so many bags.  The fashionista in me would always want to yell “One bag only, ladies!”  Now I’m one of those librarians who walks around schlupping a purse, a tote bag, a cup of coffee and a handful of keys.  Sad part is that I really don’t know why.

The first thing I do is check my email to see if there are any important messages I need to reply to, then I check the archives email for requests.  I have a meeting at 9:30, so I need to snap out of my funk.   

Funny thing.  The meeting put me in a really good mood.  Wish I could tell you about it but I’ve been sworn to secrecy.  Needless to say though, it’s pretty good…

Anyway, it’s now 10:45 and I’m going to finish my time at the Reference Desk.  There aren’t any students on campus, so the library is relatively quiet except for a few older community members who are reading newspapers.  I check Bloglines to see what I’ve missed.  There are a lot of interesting posts that I’ll check over later when I have more time to fully absorb what I’m reading.  At 11:30, my time is up so I check to see if there’s anything I can do before I leave.  Our library is pretty short staffed, so I like to make sure the ladies are covered for lunch before I leave.

Back up in the archives, I start looking for pictures of the Sisters of Mercy from the 1970s.  I know we have some, the problem is that the Sisters didn’t always wear habits so unless you know them, it’s hard to recognize them as Sisters.  I’m still not having any luck forty-five minutes later.

At 1 PM I go home for lunch.

I’m back at 2 to continue looking for pictures.  I give up and start trying to catalog some of the materials that I’ve collected in the last few weeks.  I find this process incredibly frustrating because a box will be listed in the catalog and it will not physically exist in the archives which makes me wonder where is all the stuff?  I really want to wipe out the entire archives catalog and rebox/recatalog everything.  I hate not being able to find anything.  My frustration is mounting, so I go for a walk.

It’s now 3 PM and one of my students from the evening class has come to ask me for some help with an assignment.  I welcome the diversion…

I get off work at 3:30 today and head home to see the family before I drive out to the community college where I teach American history.  After grabbing a quick bite to eat, I leave for school.

Tonight is the last class of the summer session and I’m pretty excited/happy/sad/disappointed.  This was my first time teaching so ending everything tonight is bittersweet.  My students hand in their research papers, final exams and give ten minute presentations on their research topics…then it’s all over.  I wish them well and continued success.  They wish me the same and with that, my day is over.

Now it’s 9:59 PM and I’m sitting here typing this post while a stack of papers sit, waiting to be graded…