I wondered what I could possibly post after my memorial to my father and then I read this meme by Colleen and I thought how appropriate.  My dad was a big time music lover who introduced me to funk, r&b and soul.  So in my final tribute to him, I offer this meme…

According to  Rudy’s Ramblings the meme’s instructions are to go to Music Outfitters and type in the year you graduated from high school (or first year, if still in high school) into the search function.  Retrieve the top 100 songs from that year.  Strike through the songs you hate(d), underline the songs you like(d), bold the songs you love(d) and leave blank the ones you either don’t remember or don’t care about.  Annotate at will.

I graduated in 1991 (go Saints!  I didn’t graduate with y’all but you know the deal), so here goes…

1. (Everything I Do) I Do It For You, Bryan Adams – No real reason, I guess I just got tired of hearing it
2. I Wanna Sex You Up, Color Me Badd – Who didn’t love this song?  Needless to say many of us from AHS have at least one kid the same age…
3. Gonna Make You Sweat, C+C Music Factory – I think it was Freedom Williams
4. Rush Rush, Paula Abdul – She was so girl next door
5. One More Try, Timmy T
6. Unbelievable, EMF – I thought I was anyway  🙂
7. More Than Words, Extreme
8. I Like the Way (the Kissing Game), Hi-Five – I liiiike the way you kiss me when we’re playing the kissing game…
9. The First Time, Surface
10. Baby, Baby, Amy Grant
11. Motownphilly, Boyz II Men
12. Because I Love You (The Postman Song), Stevie B
13. Someday, Mariah Carey – Girlfriend can sang
14. High Enough, Damn Yankees
15. From A Distance, Bette Midler
16. All The Man That I Need, Whitney Houston – Oh yeah, who didn’t think their high school boyfriend was all the man they needed?
17. Right Here, Right Now, Jesus Jones
18. I Adore Mi Amor, Color Me Badd – Foreign language bonus points
19. Love Will Never Do (Without You), Janet Jackson – Um, can you say Djimon Hounsou
20. Good Vibrations, Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch Featuring Loleatta Holloway
21. Justify My Love, Madonna
22. Emotions, Mariah Carey – He had me feeling emotions…
23. Joyride, Roxette
24. Romantic, Karyn White
25. I Don’t Wanna Cry, Mariah Carey – He made me cry but it was worth it…
26. Hold You Tight, Tara Kemp – Had to learn to let him go…
27. You’re In Love, Wilson Phillips – I didn’t want him to be in love, I wanted him to be miserable
28. Every Heartbeat, Amy Grant
29. Sensitivity, Ralph Tresvant – He was so cute
30. Touch Me (All Night Long), Cathy Dennis
31. I’ve Been Thinking About You, Londonbeat
32. Do Anything, Natural Selection
33. Losing My Religion, R.E.M. – Totally didn’t get it
34. Coming Out Of The Dark, Gloria Estefan – Made me feel all inspired like I could do anything
35. Here We Go. C+C Music Factory
36. It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over, Lenny Kravitz – Lenny singing just to me, what’s not to love?
37. Where Does My Heart Beat Now, Celine Dion
38. Summertime, D.J. Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince – Strawberry Boone’s Farm and barbecues
39. Wind Of Change, Scorpions
40. P.A.S.S.I.O.N., Rhythm Syndicate
41. The Promise Of A New Day, Paula Abdul
42. I’m Your Baby Tonight, Whitney Houston – Memories like the corners of my mind, misty water colored…oh, wrong song…
43. Love Of A Lifetime, Firehouse
44. Fading Like A Flower (Every Time You Leave), Roxette
45. This House, Tracie Spencer
46. Hole Hearted, Extreme
47. Power Of Love-Love Power, Luther Vandross – Usually I heart Luther but this song did absolutely nothing for me
48. Impulsive, Wilson Phillips
49. Love Is A Wonderful Thing, Michael Bolton
50. Rhythm Of My Heart, Rod Stewart
51. Things That Make You Go Hmmmm…, C+C Music Factory – Again, Freedom Williams…
52. I Touch Myself, Divinyls – giggle giggle
53. Tom’s Diner, DMA
54. Iesha, Another Bad Creation – We all wanted to be Iesha, they were cute little boys
55. Something To Talk About, Bonnie Raitt
56. After The Rain, Nelson
57. Play That Funky Music, Vanilla Ice – We are all hanging our collective heads on this one…
58. Temptation, Corina
59. Can’t Stop This Thing We Started, Bryan Adams
60. I Can’t Wait Another Minute, Hi-Five
61. 3 A.M. Eternal, The KLF
62. Time, Love and Tenderness, Michael Bolton
63. Saideness Part I, Enigrna
64. Around The Way Girl, LL Cool J – I was as around the way as a girl who grew up on the mean streets of Italy could be…
65. I’ll Be There, Escape Club
66. Cream, Prince and The N.P.G. – Oooooh, he taught me so much about euphemisms and just being bold
67. Now That We Found Love, Heavy D. and The Boyz – Heavy D was a cutie
68. Show Me The Way, Styx
69. Love Takes Time, Mariah Carey – Again, girlfriend could sang…and when I was nursing a broken heart…chile, Mariah saw me through
70. Cry For Help, Rick Astley
71. The Way You Do The Things You Do, UB40 – So funky
72. Here I Am (Come and Take Me), UB40 – Ditto
73. Signs, Tesla
74. Too Many Walls, Cathy Dennis
75. Crazy, Seal
76. I’ll Give All My Love To You, Keith Sweat – This brotha turned begging into an artform
77. Place In This World, Michael W. Smith
78. Something To Believe In, Poison
79. Wicked Game, Chris Issak – So sexy
80. Get Here, Oleta Adams – *Wink*
81. Round and Round, Tevin Campbell – I loved me some Tevin Campbell
82. Silent Lucidity, Queensryche
83. I’m Not In Love, Will To Power
84. Piece Of My Heart, Tara Kemp
85. Real Real Real, Jesus Jones
87. Just Another Dream, Cathy Dennis
88. Everybody Plays The Fool, Aaron Neville
88. Strike It Up, Black Box
89. Rico Suave, Gerardo –  Hahaha  I danced to this and you know you did too
90. Disappear, INXS
91. Groove Is In The Heart, Deee-Lite – I wanted to be her, she was so cool
92. All This Time, Sting
93. The One and Only, Chesney Hawkes
94. O.P.P., Naughty By Nature – You know at one time or ‘nother you were OPP and you were creepin…
95. Freedom 90, George Michael
96. I Saw Red, Warrent
97. Miles Away, Winger
98. Do You Want Me, Salt-N-Pepa – Who didn’t like Salt-N-Pepa?  We even looked liked them for a minute…
99. The Motown Song, Rod Stewart
100. Shiny Happy People, R.E.M.