Today I took my daughter out of school to go with me to vote.  Normally, I wouldn’t have done this but she has been interested in the political process since it’s beginnings nearly two years ago.  She was a Hillary Clinton supporter (and, I suspect, still is).  As time passed, she transferred her zeal for Clinton to what can only be called “Obamamania.”  At school, she encouraged her friends to talk politics with their parents.  Each evening, she asked for updates on her candidate and whether he was ok.  Growing up in an area where we (African Americans) are the minority, my daughter is keenly aware of the dangers for a black man who is fighting his way to the top of the political heap.

So how could I not let her be a part of the process?  As I confirmed my vote, my daughter smiled a smile I haven’t seen in a long time.  I could see the pride in her eyes…

Knowing that this election has the potential to break my daughter’s heart tonight, I wanted her to understand the historical significance of what we had accomplished today.  So I told her, no matter who wins tonight, history has been made because we will either end up with an African American president or a female vice-president.  My daughter turned to me and smiled, saying “I just watched history.”