Photo Courtesy of International House Philadelphia

Photo Courtesy of International House Philadelphia

I met her yesterday.  And she is me.  I was having one of those days that started off well enough but ended in what can only be described as a meltdown of diva proportions.  I’m not sure exactly how everything went so completely wrong but by the end of the day I was second guessing every move I had made but, worse, I was suffering from an overwhelming feeling of inadequacy as an instructor.

However, one of the good things about waking up the next morning and breathing in and out (other than the fact that it means that you are still alive) is that it means that you have the opportunity to begin things anew.  So that is what I intend to do today.

Breathe in through the nose and out through the mouth….

Today I am working primarily as the University Archivist.  My goals are to:

9:45 AM – Showed my student worker how to save photographs on the “L” drive so that I can load them onto flickr.  Prior to today the only thing I’ve really had her working on is clipping newspaper articles (do not get me started on this archaic practice).

Letting someone else handle the material has been incredibly difficult for me…Archivists are notoriously possessive of their archives and tend to be control freaks.  I have had to learn to let go, otherwise that poor girl would be sitting in here staring at four walls for hours.  Besides, she’s a pretty good worker and she is accepting of all of my quirks (and I have many).

10:56 AM – My student leaves for her morning class so it’s time to log into Pandora.  She and I usually keep up a running stream of conversation so the silence is deafening when she leaves.

11:00 to 11:20 – Take some time to read my feeds and check in on my friends at Twitter, Facebook and Friendfeed.  I read a post about Michelle Obama presenting Laura Bush with an engraved journal and pen as a hostess gift…I, like everyone else, am continually amazed by this couple.

12:15 to 12:45 – Sat through presentation of applicant for the Electronic Resources / Systems Librarian position at our library.  Went downstairs and debriefed co-workers.

1:00 PM – Thinking about lunch but up comes that parking issue again.  To lose my parking space or to keep my parking space, that is the question.  Honestly, it’s not that the campus is all that big and I’d have a terribly long walk.  It’s that it’s freezing out there which would make a short walk seem terribly long.  Keep parking space.  No lunch.

Here’s the deal…If I ever win the lottery, I am building a big honkin’ parkade next to the library and I am calling it the Dani Vaughn-Tucker Parking Pavillion.  There will be a heated lower level for library staff only (swipe card access) and a covered breezeway to walk from the parkade to the library.  Honestly, people keep putting up buildings in their honor but if they really want to make people happy donate money for decent parking.

I’d also put a fourth floor on the library so we can have a coffee shop but that’s another post.

1:15 PM – Begin working on information for my Library Instruction on tomorrow.  Library Instruction is basically a class where the librarian (or library staff member) shows students how to access the different resources in the library.  We also explain the difference between primary and secondary resources and talk about using different search techniques for accessing information.  

This is the first time that I’ve ever had to present so I’m a little nervous.  Especially since I found out that the instructor is going to be in the classroom.

So I woke up bright and early this morning with the startling realization that I never finished my post from yesterday.  Yes, I do think about things like this in my sleep.  So here’s the quick wrap up from yesterday…

I wrote out an outline for the Library Instruction that was supposed to take place today…Can I tell you how nervous I am about this instruction session?  After I felt I had tweaked as much as possible, I parked myself in my big comfy chair and watched tv until about 11:30 PM.