I survived another week...

I survived another week...

It’s Friday and I have survived.  Imagine me doing the happy dance.  This has been a crazy week for me.  I went from feeling on top of my game to sinking to the floor in despair.  I’ve had a Library Instruction session scheduled on the fly and rescheduled due to inclement weather.  And I’ve prepared two tests and proctored one.

Today is going to be a fairly slow day for me.  I have class in a little over an hour.  It’ll be mostly lecture with a few questions tossed in here and there to make sure everyone is still awake.  But for the most part, it’ll be me talking.  I also plan to play a bit of “Maple Leaf Rag” by Scott Joplin.  I know “The Entertainer” is much more familiar but I kinda like Maple…

Sometimes I truly forget how young my class is (or how old I really am)…anyway, I talked to them about Scott Joplin and they looked at me like I was speaking a foreign language.  So I played “Maple Leaf Rag” for them and no reaction but when I played “The Entertainer,” their eyes lit up with recognition.  They recognized it from cartoons!  So we talked about how music and other cultural movements from the late 19th and early 20th centuries have infiltrated popular culture.  I honestly felt like we had a productive class.  They even talked to me and asked and answered questions.  Yes!  I feel like I have been redeemed.

It’s 12:17 and I’m supposed to be on the Reference Desk, but there has been a bit of schedule shuffling so I may end up at the desk later this afternoon.  In the meantime, I’m going to spend some time putting some pictures up on flickr while I listen to DeBarge on Pandora.

So I sat the desk from about 1:30 til 3:00.  Most of the reference questions were about the printers “Why aren’t they working?”  “What does it mean when it says ‘hold for secure printing’?”  Um, I dunno.  They didn’t teach us this in library school.  I wish they had though since this seems to be 90% of my job.  I also answered questions about the snow as in “When is it going to stop?!”

At 3:15 I received a call from Mr. 13 begging me to bring him food before he left for his basketball game.  In the interest of self preservation (I do not want anyone from social services calling me because my son is rolling on the floor crying because he’s starving to death) I agree to bring food.

By 4:30 I am ready to end my day and put an end to this meme.  I’d like to think Bobbi and all the other librarians who have participated in Library Day in the Life.  This has been fun and I hope that you all have enjoyed spending the week with me…Now I’m signing off for the night to spend some time with my friends….my family….myself.