My Library Instruction has been rescheduled for today at 3:30 PM and I am so incredibly nervous.  I think I’ve mentioned before that this is the first time that I am doing this.  Anyway, the professor is sitting in on the class and that has me nervous enough.  He is also the person I report to as an adjunct faculty member for the History Department.  This will also be the first time he gets to check out my teaching techniques.  Aaack!

My supervisor came into my office on Friday and informed me that she is going to try to sit in on the session too.  Gulp!  I am so not ready for the pressure.  Then I received an email from the Head of Reference Services saying that he will be sitting in on the session too.  Thud.

Ok, I know I teach classes four times a week so this shouldn’t be a big deal but this is like standing before my peers and being graded.  I know they’ll be mentally reviewing me to make sure I hit all the “hot spots.”  I feel like I am going before the academic equivalent of a firing squad.

I have an outline prepared to make sure I cover everything but I still want to….This is a family blog, so I won’t say but needless to say, I haven’t had much to eat today.

I’ve prepared a little packet of handouts to give to the students for them to refer to as I talk.  My packet includes:

  • An information sheet about the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library
  • A primer on the differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines
  • A description of the Dewey Decimal System
  • Library Instruction Assessment sheet for after the session
  • Bookmarks, the library’s newsletter

Anyway, I think I’d better go take a moment…