Black Power PinThose who know me would be surprised to find out that back in the day I used to be somewhat militant.  I held my fist up high and demanded an end to Nelson Mandela’s incarceration as well as an immediate end to apartheid.  

In fact, I stunned and embarrassed my family by taking a silver magic marker and writing all sorts of anti-apartheid, free Nelson Mandela and anti-racist slogans on my black suitcase when we moved from Italy to Mississippi.  

Skip ahead many years and I have softened my stance somewhat but my blood still boils when I see the injustices in Darfur or the inadequate coverage that missing women and children of color receive as opposed to the media coverage received by missing white women and children.  I have heard the argument that it’s about ratings and sympathy.  Whatever.  Everyone is someone’s loved one and regardless of race, color, creed or sexual orientation they deserve to be acknowledged and found if they are lost.  And they deserve justice if they are injured or, worse, murdered.  But I digress…. 

Recently, I stumbled across the African Activist Archive and was totally thrilled.  The purpose of the archive is to preserve the records and memories of African  activists in the United States from the 1950s through the 1990s.

The project is assembling a wide variety of historical material including pamphlets, newsletters, buttons, t-shirts as well as audio and video recordings.  

They are currently soliciting material from those who were actively involved in the cause of liberation for African people.  As a historian, a librarian, an archivist and a woman of color who was down for the cause I hope that people will contribute to this worthwhile effort.